top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTREC Dog Training

Follow your dreams and do what your passionate about


getting Lilly May to engage with me, while cueing a "look"

I am a firm believer that everything happens for a reason. When I was growing up, my dream was to be a professional soccer player and although that sounds crazy to some, I was well on my way. Who knows where I would be today had I not tore my ACL all the way my senior year of high school. It is fun to think about at times, how different your life may look had you made a better choice or had that situation not happened the way it did. Somehow I think at the end of the day we end up where we are supposed to be if we keep going after dreams. even though my soccer dream kinda died, a new dream arrived. I suffered through a horrible and quite long depression after I realized my dreams had been crushed. I didn't have to give up, I could have tried again. Maybe the option was just to hard to think about. All the players I use to play with had passed me up while I was out for a year. I seemed to have just let it go and moved on to something else, but it was a very hard season for me. So there it was....waiting for me. A new passion, a new endeavor, a new talent I hadn't discovered. I started to volunteer my time at the humane society, giving back to dogs who were homeless, lost, and had tons of behavior issues, lets just be honest. I seemed to attach myself to the ones who had nothing but fear left to give. I rehabilitated them, made them feel safe, showed them they could trust again. Then....I got to be a trainer. That is when I realized that it was the best thing I could possibly do for these homeless dogs, that sat in these shelters. I knew...that most of the dogs I saw in the shelter were in there because of behavior issues. If I could have just shown some of these owners simple training techniques that they could do or have just proved to them that all it would take is a bit of commitment and consistency and their dog would be golden I do believe I could have kept some dogs out of the shelter. Some people realize what others don't, that Positive Reinforcement training is an option and that it works. Even for shelter dogs...it works. So I guess that is just what I want to prove. I want to prove that a fear aggressive dog doesn't need you to choke them with a pinch collar to get them to stop and that being aggressive with an aggressive dog, wont ever solve the the root of the problem. I want to prove that dogs are intelligent enough to think and learn what it is we want from them and that they don't need to be forced into submission. I want to prove that a dog doesn't need an "Alpha" they need a connection. So many people want quick fixes for things, but I think we all know that a quick fix never solves the real issue. just like anything in life that is successful, it all takes hard work, commitment, and consistency so please tell me why is training a dog any different? why are we so quick to grab a choke collar or pinch collar when our dog is pulling instead of teaching it how to walk on a leash properly? why are we so quick to buy an e collar when our dog wont stop barking instead of trying to figure out why its barking and teaching it a better option. and why...when these tools don't fix our dog, do we just give up and toss them in a shelter? If your gonna have a dog, understand that it takes work and that you need to be ready for whatever that dog throws at you. Dog Training is never a quick fix. ever. Put the time in, and I promise you will be impressed by the results. This is why I do what I do. This is why I call my business TREC because I believe in a dog who can think, who should get rewarded for their work, who should be engaged with us, and a dog whom we can connect with. Training should never be about domination, it should always be about building a bond.

51 views0 comments
bottom of page